Theatre Programs Excel at Competition

Home > Theatre Programs Excel at Competition


O2023 Middle School Theatre Districtsur Middle and Upper School theatre students took to the stage recently, qualifying for state competition and putting on epic performances.

Middle School Drama Troupe 88015 participated in the Junior Thespians District 4 Festival, receiving 13 Superior & seven Excellent ratings. Their accolades included five Top Honors and a troupe-matching record of three Critic’s Choices. Once again, all events qualified for states; a major achievement for our young actors and true testament to their passion and commitment.

Superior Solo Musical (Critic’s Choice, Top Honor): Siena De Maria

Superior Solo Musical (Top Honor): Giacomo Harris

Superior Solo Musical: Lexi de Godoy

Superior Solo Musical: Carolina Guerrero

Superior Solo Musical: Jimena Franco

Superior Monologue (Critic’s Choice, Top Honor): Sofia Gonzalez

Superior Monologue (Top Honor): Sebastian Taylor

Superior Monologue: Luca Komaransky

Superior Duet Acting: Evan Weinstein and Luca Komaransky

Superior Duet Pantomime (Critic’s Choice, Top Honor): Giacomo Harris and Jack O’Brien

Superior Solo Pantomime: Clara Friedman

Superior Small Group Musical: Siena De Maria, Sofia Gonzalez, Siena Ringel, and Lexi de Godoy

Superior Large Group Musical: Siena De Maria, Miranda Canals-Vazquez, Elvira Disotuar, Sofia Gonzalez, Giacomo Harris, Jack O’Brien, Sebastian Taylor, Evan Weinstein, Luca Komaransky, Luli Cava, Lexi de Godoy, Clara Friedman, Araya Kaushal-Nagra, and Siena Ringel

Excellent Monologue: Evan Weinstein

Excellent Monologue: Siena Ringel

Excellent Duet Acting: Miranda Canals-Vazquez and Elvira Disotuar

Excellent Duet Acting: Luli Cava and Araya Kaushal-Nagra

Excellent Duet Musical: Jack O’Brien and Sebastian Taylor

Excellent Large Group Musical: Quinn Noyes, Samantha Gonzalez, Ana Leyba, Carolina Guerrero, Isabella Dosal, Jimena Franco, Lilian Garcia, Natalia Botty, Victoria Fortgang, Alina Skillrud, and Antonio Padoveze Goncalves

Upper School Theatre November 2023

Our Upper School thespians performed beautifully at two competitions, as their one act production – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime – was selected to perform at the state festival in March with over 12,000 attendees. Students received several individual honors, including three Top Honors, and more.


Individual Events: 18 Superior scores, 2 Excellent scores


Top Honors (highest scores in the county): Mirle Chaia Perez (2x), Gregg Chase, Olivia Pozo


Dade County Improv Team Selections: Valeria Bigott, Sophia Lambert, Samuel Levinger, and Sebastian Ulloa


One Act Results: Superior Scores, State Representative
  • All Star Cast: Siena McKelvey
  • All Star Crew: Ethan Artzt and Mirel Chaia Perez
  • Best Lighting Design in Dade County: Lucia Rotolante Freedman
  • Best Sound Design in Dade County: Lucia Rotolante Freedman
  • Best Program Design in Dade County: Gulliver Prep Marketing & Communications
  • Best Dramatic Lead Actor in Dade County: Samuel Levinger



More From the Newsroom