Zach Garrett, Alina Armada Honored with Teacher of the Year Awards



A pair of Upper School faculty members have been recognized for their hard work and dedication to their craft, as Zach Garrett was named STN Teacher of the Year and Alina Armada earned the DCCTM Outstanding Mathematics Teacher Award.

Zach GarrettMr. Garrett, Upper School Digital Mass Media Faculty, is in his first year of teaching at Gulliver. In just one year, he has had a major impact on our Digital Mass Media Signature Academic Programs, leading his students to a first place finish in STN’s Crazy 8’s Competition – the most difficult on-the-spot student broadcast contest in the country. Our student-produced broadcast programs, Raider305 and RaiderRecap, were also recognized by STN for Broadcast Excellence, earning a Silver and Bronze medal, respectively, and students brought home multiple individual awards, in what was Gulliver’s first time participating in STN’s national convention.

The Student Television Network (STN) Teacher of the Year is recognized for their dedication to the profession and a high level of achievement in all areas of teaching broadcast journalism, film, or media. The teacher must also display creative and media skills, classroom effectiveness, and strong leadership, as is evident in Mr. Garrett’s case by the plethora of awards and recognitions his students have received this year.

Alina Armada

Mrs. Armada, Upper School Mathematics Faculty, has been teaching at Gulliver for more than 35 years and served as Upper School Mathematics Department Chair for 25 years. As Teacher of the Year Award guidelines stipulate, she consistently exhibits knowledge of teaching and learning math, inspires her students, and shares best practices with colleagues. Math students at Gulliver have participated in various high-level competitions and presentations under her tutelage.

The Dade County Council of Teachers of Mathematics (DCCTM) is a non-profit organization that promotes the improvement of mathematics instructional programs through cooperation and communication among the educators of mathematics in Miami-Dade County.